DIY

While Aussie hubby was overseas (ok, not exactly but Tasmania does feel like a long way away), I decided to make use of my spare time and be a little creative.

Since moving into our house last year, I have gone a little nuts decorating our home to make it a homely and cosy place without being cluttered. I am big supporter of neutral backgrounds and a few splashes of colour – preferably blues and greens. I would describe my style as a mix of shabby chic with a touch of glamour.

I felt the bedroom looked a little sad and unfinished and hence decided to do my own picture wall – with assistance from the always-present dachshunds, of course…

I was inspired by this picture:

20121013-163037.jpg

This is what you need
– Picture frames in different sizes from eg. IKEA
– Fabric in whatever colours/patterns you like from eg. Spotlight

The cost was around $100.

Cut the fabric to the size of the frame leaving a little extra fabric around the edges. Iron the fabric.

Stretch the fabric over the frame and secure tightly. Cut off any excess fabric.
Give excess fabric to dachshunds to chew on!

Admire your finished product and find a good spot to display them in all their glory.

 

Aussie hubby ‘approved’ of my project upon his return  and even wants to add a few more to fill in the gaps.

Oh, and the furry kids had a little fun too….

But we ARE helping! Really!

Leave a Reply

